East Kent Alliance League

The East Kent Alliance League was established in 1983 to give a financial boost to clubs in the winter period when visitor bookings are much lower than in the summer period. A small group of clubs agreed on a format which is the basis of the Alliance. Currently there are 17 clubs. Ashford, Bearsted, Boughton, Canterbury, Chestfield & Swalecliffe, Etchinghill, Faversham, Lydd, Sene Valley, Sheerness, Sittingbourne & Milton Regis, St Augustine’s, Tenterden, The Ridge, Walmer & Kingsdown, Weald of Kent and Littlestone Warren.

The league comprises of six events each year starting in October through to March and the Marlowe Cup is awarded to the team finishing first after the six events. There is also a separate singles event held at the end of the season, usually two weeks following the final pairs event. All events are held on the 2nd Thursday of each month apart from the singles which are held on the 3rd or 4th Thursday in March.